Earthquake

Earthquake 

That 6.0 earthquake on Saturday certainly shook me up. It lasted long enough for me to wonder… what’s next? I was brought to tears talking to a friend who woke with a scream as her whole life shifted and tumbled to the floor (and onto her). When things like this happen, when the earth rumbles, when life turns upside-down, when life speaks to us directly (as loud as a fall down a mountain or as quiet as a sign on an advertisement along the highway), it reminds us that only this moment is ours to keep. We don’t know what’s to come in the next moment.

I’ve spent this week FEELING: feeling concern, empathy, joy, love, connection, fear, confusion, inquiry. It makes me value THIS MOMENT, being present with what is to learn and grow and REALLY experience this moment.

To all those in Napa and surrounds who experienced the upheaval of our recent earthquake and after shocks…

“And once the storm is over you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, in fact, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what the storm’s all about.”

~ Haruki Murakami
Concrete slabs

2 responses to “Earthquake

    • Yes, I’m an empath like you and usually I hide it or squelch it. This Leadership Program I am in is reminding me of who I am, reminding me to release the fear and open my heart. It’s a joy to share my Truth, my heart, with the world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

