Commit to your dream

cti_logo

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents, meetings and material assistance which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.

— W.H. Murray, The Scottish Himalaya Expedition, 1951

In 2008, I returned to the States from a 2 year ‘sabbatical’ of sorts and came to the conclusion that I wanted to become a Certified Life Coach. I was 15hrs away from completing a life coach training program when I fell 150+ft down Half Dome. After amnesia, a month in the hospital, and months of rehabilitation, I had forgotten all that I learned. As I was recovering from my Dance with Half Dome, my desire to become a Life Coach was growing stronger than ever.

In early 2012, I began to get serious about forging ahead to my goal. I had been waiting quite a while to hear if the Department of Rehabilitation would offer me financial assistance. In a session with Kaarin Alisa, my Life Coach, she inspired me to take the reins. Though I didn’t know how I was going to fund it, I hung up with Kaarin, called the Coaches Training Institute and signed up for the first class in their yearlong program.

From that moment on, it was just as W.H. Murray states in the above quote: “…the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred.” Even though I had no idea how I was going to fund living outside of my parents’ house let alone the training program, I decided to move back to Northern California where I lived just before my hiking fall. To my amazement, soon after that a friend set me up with a house-sitting gig in the Bay Area. Though it took quite a bit longer and required several hoops to jump through, eventually, the Department of Rehabilitation came through offering to fund my training (!!!!!).

I took the first course in January 2012 and I’ve been actively in the program for the last 2 ½ years. In April 2014, I passed the written exam. This past Thursday, on September 11, 2014, I was to take the Oral exam – coaching two Master Coaches – to complete my certification.

In prepping for the exam in the last weeks, I have been extremely stressed and I’ve felt much more sensitive and fussed. It wasn’t until Wednesday in a session with Kaarin that we realized the oral certification exam was so much more than passing an exam.

It has taken me 6 years and a major change of plans to get to this place in my life. Thursday’s exam represented the culmination of a vision that started well before my Dance with Half Dome, a long arduous journey of healing and continuous movement toward the light at the end of the tunnel. This exam was a symbol, a re-commitment to my potential, a reclaiming of who I am. I feel the exam went really well and I’m very optimistic. Once I find out I passed, it will be a closing of one chapter as I open to the next phase of my life.

Whew!

6 responses to “Commit to your dream

  1. I’m so happy the exam went well. Be sure to let us know when you get your results!!!

    Love to you,

    Diane

    >________________________________ > From: The Unfolding Self >To: diane_lemson@yahoo.com >Sent: Friday, September 12, 2014 7:27 PM >Subject: [New post] Commit to your dream > > > > WordPress.com >MagicMoon11 posted: ” Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment o” >

    Like

  2. I loved your post, Gina, and I’m thrilled, though not surprised, the exam went well. You are a wonderful coach and it has been such a pleasure to get to know you and your story a little during the past year. Hugs, Trudy

    Like

    • Thank you, Trudy. It’s been great getting to know you thru this course and I know you’ll be successful. You have so much to offer.
      I hope we can stay in touch! And maybe even meet in person someday when I visit the U.K. 😉 Love to you! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

