“Dear Stranger” Letter to fulfill Laura’s Birthday Wish

I'm using one of my birthday candles to wish that you read this entire post because with your contribution this will be AMAZING! The birthday wish: “Dear Stranger” Birthday Letters I always treat myself to something special on my birthday. This year I’m hoping for a treat from you, which will also be a gift to yourself!  This is something I’ve been dreaming of for a long time, and I’m betting you have too (only you didn’t know it.) It would fill my heart to hear from yours! I’m so inspired by the many strangers who have made a difference in my life, and blown-away by the sheer fact that these people likely have absolutely no idea of their impact and that I even exist. I’ve had fundamental changes in the way I think and choose to behave because of people like the grown-ups making silly faces from their white truck to other drivers when I was a 6 year old, or the woman who waved her granddaughter’s hand at a group of homeless people several years ago. Likely these people have no recollection of me, but I will always remember them and the enduring effect they have had on me. We all have had experiences like this in life, and here is your chance to express gratitude to these people. Hells bells, you would be the recipient of a bunch of these letters too, if we all wrote them! So, this year as my gift to myself, I got a PO Box, and am asking your help in filling it! Whether you love me and hold me in your fondest circle of friends, we’ve had a brief exchange, or you are just catching word of this idea, it would be a birthday wish come true to have the contribution of your gratitude for a stranger who has made a positive impact on you. The not-so-secret here is, while this is a birthday gift to me, you are getting the greatest gift by having this moment to acknowledge someone and some moment that has been so important to you. Flood the PO Box! With Love, Laura Vella Here is how to play: 1. Write from your heart as if you are writing directly to this stranger.       Eg: “Dear Woman Who Took Her Granddaughter’s Hand,” 2. Send to: P.O. Box 9464 Berkeley, CA 94709 3. Postmarked on or before December 31 (my birthday and the world’s New Year’s Eve!) BONUS: Share this with your friends, family, and colleagues. Bring on the mail, I can deal with the paper cuts!

My friend Laura’s birthday is on December 31st. Her birthday wish is for everyone to write a letter to one stranger in your life that has made an impact. You know the experience: a stranger did some small thing that either impacted your day or impacted your life and most likely has no idea that they did ( maybe they smiled at you when you were feeling blue, picked up a card you didn’t know you dropped, complimented your shoes… and one of Laura’s experiences – ‘the woman who waved her granddaughter’s hand at a group of homeless people’).

Laura says:

“Here is how to play:

1.     Write from your heart as if you are writing directly to this stranger.
Eg: “Dear Woman Who Took Her Granddaughter’s Hand,”

2.     Send to:
P.O. Box 9464
Berkeley, CA 94709

3.      Postmarked on or before December 31 (my birthday and the world’s New Year’s
Eve!)

BONUS: Share this with your friends, family, and colleagues. Bring on the mail, I can deal with the paper cuts!

I’ve had fundamental changes in the way I think and choose to behave because of strangers. Likely these people have no recollection of me, but I will always remember them and the enduring effect they have had on me.

So, this year as my gift to myself, I got a PO Box, and am asking your help in filling it! Whether you love me and hold me in your fondest circle of friends, we’ve had a brief exchange, or you are just catching word of this idea, it would be a birthday wish come true to have the contribution of your gratitude for a stranger who has made a positive impact on you.

The not-so-secret here is, while this is a birthday gift to me, you are getting the greatest gift by having this moment to acknowledge someone and some moment that has been so important to you.

Flood the PO Box!
With Love,
Laura”

Leave a Reply

