A Splash of Hawaiian Sweetness

Click on a picture to read the captions and forward thru larger images of them.

It’s a breath of fresh air and a slice of sweetness out here on the Big Island of Hawaii… my depression is lifting. I caught the travel bug years ago and getting out to see the world lifts my spirits every time. I’m seeing new things, exploring new areas, being exposed to new ideas and new ways of being and meeting new people.

I was here for two days with my lovely friend, Lisa Louise, before she left on her 40 day excursion. Lisa Louise welcomed me with a Lei when she picked me up from the teensy International Airport and took me on a short tour of Hilo. We went to a small farmer’s market, drove by the bay, saw ‘downtown’ and had lunch at a café with a view of the bay.

When we got to her studio it was dark. To be completely honest, I was feeling concern as we walked thru the pitch black forest to get to her little abode among the trees. There are many ‘inconveniences’ but I’m adapting – it feels like living in a cabin, minus the fireplace 😉 The rain tapped on the tin roof thru the night and the next few days, but generally it’s been sunny and warm 3 or my 6 days here. They are in a drought because each home in the village catches their water from the rain. Rain is expected to flood in for February.

She showed me around her village and introduced me to her many friends. Volcano is full of artists of all varieties and everyone is friendly. People wave and smile as I drive down her street. The roads are easy to navigate. Even this geographically challenged soul can’t get lost! Well, I still get a bit confused but not yet officially lost 😉

My calendar is full of fun things to do – cultural events, farmer’s markets, trips to Hilo for groceries, other necessities and gasoline, a variety of weekly and monthly classes and talks. And I’m thrilled to be trying out the community yoga classes of various types throughout the week at the very affordable $5-10 per class.

I feared I’d be alone and lonely in this studio in a rain forest in the middle of the island but I have more of a social life now than I did in the Bay Area! I’m soaking up as much sunny activity as I can while I can.

AND yesterday in the serene sunshine amid the trees, I started writing my book!!

Thank you, Hawai’i, for a much needed sprinkle of sweetness.

17 responses to “A Splash of Hawaiian Sweetness

  1. Aloha, Gina! Oh my, this DOES sound like quite the experience, and for sure, a huge boost to your heart.  I am loving the photos of your “hideaway”..like the forest is cradling you! Please continue to share your days with us, ok? Sounds like so many positive, engaging things to do. AND….yay, so glad you are beginning to write your book! Love to you, and I’ll be watching for more…. diane

    From: The Unfolding Self To: diane_lemson@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2016 2:34 PM Subject: [New post] A Splash of Hawaiian Sweetness #yiv7077196199 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7077196199 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7077196199 a.yiv7077196199primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7077196199 a.yiv7077196199primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7077196199 a.yiv7077196199primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7077196199 a.yiv7077196199primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7077196199 WordPress.com | Gina Bartiromo posted: “It’s a breath of fresh air and a slice of sweetness out here on the Big Island of Hawaii… my depression is lifting. I caught the travel bug years ago and getting out to see the world lifts my spirits every time. I’m seeing new things, exploring new ar” | |

    Like

  2. Yummm. Reminds me of a line in The Great Gatsby, “And I like large parties. They’re so intimate. At small parties there isn’t any privacy.” Sometimes living in a big city can be so isolating. Yet in a tiny town, greater connectedness with others and nature. Watching the world turn to grey as the sun sets. The sound of the pitter patter on a tin roof. The birds, doves, cooing in the morning. Longer and meaningful conversations with neighbors. “A breath of fresh air,” reminds me of the Hawaiian word for breath. ha = breath or spirit, often interpreted to mean “the sacred breath of life within us all,” or “the spirit of the Creator that breathes life into every living being and joins us all as one.” ha.

    Like

  3. I am so thrilled for you! Enjoy your vacation, I hope the new surroundings continue to invigorate your creativity and YES PLEASE continue writing about your new adventure in Hawaii!

    Like

  4. body{font-family: Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;background-color: #ffffff;color: black;}Life is good! 

    Like

Leave a Reply

