An Opportunity to Practice Trusting Myself

I had planned to take a guided tour today at 11am. I’m pretty sure I was in the right place at the right time but no one was there. Argh. I stood there hemming and hawing completely indecisive. Do I skip it or do I go solo? I don’t like to hike alone anymore. I don’t trust myself to not get lost and my fearful body can get my mind to run amuck. And, today especially, I really didn’t need more time with my thoughts. I wanted a guided hike, not a solo hike. Do I skip it or do I go? Fear and frustration can be common companions that get me stuck.

My thought – “I’ll just go down the path a little bit to see if they’re already further ahead.” And before long, I had decided to just keep walking and see what happens. Feel the fear and do it anyway. Or my spin on that “acknowledge the fear, thank it for the warning and move along.”

It was a good hike through more rain forest with chirping birds. There were views of the crater puffing out steam. I even came across a dancing figure in a tree root. I enjoyed the various accents of travelers along the trail. I know my limits and respected them and did my best to get out my head. I followed the clearly marked signs with options for further treks. Then I came upon a route called “Devastation Trail” to the left and on my right was a daunting warning sign saying “hazardous area/ CLOSED.” Both sounded a little intimidating so I turned around 😉

Side-note: I noticed something a few days ago on a nature walk given by a local. I no longer need to look down to watch every step my foot is making! It’s taken years of practice but I can finally look at the scenery while walking… unless I’m going down stairs or downhill or the road is at all uneven… but this is a huge improvement!

2 responses to “An Opportunity to Practice Trusting Myself

  1. Dear Gina,

    What a great post. I have been on that trail many many times and never noticed the heart in the crater. Fresh eyes!!!

    Thanks (Mahalo!),

    Nicola On Feb 2, 2016 9:41 AM, “The Unfolding Self” wrote:

    > Gina Bartiromo posted: “I had planned to take a guided tour today at 11am. > I’m pretty sure I was in the right place at the right time but no one was > there. Argh. I stood there hemming and hawing completely indecisive. Do I > skip it or do I go solo? I don’t like to hike alone anym” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

