Service from the Wholeness of You

baby birds-1540325

“In recent years the question HOW CAN I HELP? has become meaningful to many people.
But perhaps there is a deeper question we might consider. Perhaps the real question is not how
can I help? but HOW CAN I SERVE?
Serving is different from helping. Helping is based on inequality: it is not a relationship
between equals. When you help you use your own strength to help those of lesser strength. If
I’m attentive to what’s going on inside of me when I’m helping, I find that I’m always helping
someone who’s not as strong as I am, who is needier than I am. People feel this inequality.
When we help we may inadvertently take away from people more than we could ever give
them: we may diminish their self-esteem, their sense of worth, integrity and wholeness. When I
help I am very aware of my own strength. But we don’t serve with our strength, we serve with
ourselves. We draw from all of our experiences. Our limitations serve, our wounds serve, even
our darkness can serve. The wholeness in us serves the wholeness in others and the wholeness in
life. The wholeness in you is the same as the wholeness in me. Service is a relationship between
equals.”

Rachel Naomi Remen is an author, teacher, and promoter in integrative medicine. Together with Michael Lerner, she is a founder of the Cancer Help Program at Commonweal Institute, better known as Commonweal.

IN THE SERVICE OF LIFE by Rachel Naomi Remen. M.D., adapted from a talk given at
a conference of the Institute for Noetic Sciences in July, 1995, and reprinted in the Noetic
Sciences Review, Spring 1996.

 

2 responses to “Service from the Wholeness of You

  1. Hi Gina!!!

    Hope things are going well with you. I (and my praying friends and congregation) continue to pray for your friend Jon. How is he doing? We will be ongoing in our prayer support….

    I thought the above quote was very timely. Thanks for your flexibility in rescheduling terms of our next Coaching Session for this Friday Feb 3 at noon. The Memorial Service went very well. The family felt much love and care of the Church Family and their Family and Friends.

    One of the things I appreciate about you is that you do an excellent job in your Coaching as an “equal.” You fulfill the principle shared above that: “Service is a relationship between equals.”

    And a sincere thanks for how you serve with “yourself”: “But we don’t serve with our strength, we serve with ourselves. We draw from all of our experiences. Our limitations serve, our wounds serve, even our darkness can serve. The wholeness in us serves the wholeness in others and the wholeness in life. The wholeness in you is the same as the wholeness in me.”

    Again thanks for your openness and serving heart,

    Blessings,

    Namaste,

    Tom

    On Fri, Jan 27, 2017 at 6:56 AM, The Unfolding Self wrote:

    > Gina Bartiromo posted: ” “In recent years the question HOW CAN I HELP? has > become meaningful to many people. But perhaps there is a deeper question we > might consider. Perhaps the real question is not how can I help? but HOW > CAN I SERVE? Serving is different from helping. Hel” >

    Like

    • Thank you, Tom. Such beautiful words. I am glad all is well with you and I look forward to meeting. Yes, please continue to pray for Jon’s health. His insurance is possibly changing due to the company being bought out. Really hoping all will stay the same because he’s getting great care for his unique leukemia. Thank you! Grace and ease, Gina

      Like

Leave a Reply

