Pele, Goddess of Fire

click on the images to see up close

In 2014, I assisted at a Coaches Training Institute course and met my lovely Hawaiian friend, Cara. Cara had an image of Pele on her screen saver and I was enraptured. Pele represents the fire inside us all, the ‘stand tall in who you are’ presence. I’ve had Pele as my screen saver on my computer and on my cell phone since then. That was nearly 2 years ago… little did I know that I would be on Pele’s land a few years later!

“Described as “She-Who-Shapes-The-Sacred-Land” in ancient Hawaiian chants, the volcano goddess, Pele, was passionate, volatile, and capricious. In modern times, Pele has become the most visible of all the old gods and goddesses. Dwelling in the craters of the Big Island’s Kilauea Volcano, she has been sending ribbons of fiery lava down the mountainside and adding new land around the southeastern shore almost continuously since 1983.”

(Taken from http://www.coffeetimes.com/pele.htm where you can find more about Pele;

images from a variety of posters, pictures at Volcano National Park)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.